How To: Earring Holder

February 21, 2012 at 8:41 pm 1 comment

Ryan and I traveled west over the weekend to visit family and friends. On my way to Greensboro, I dropped him and Stedman off in Raleigh to hang out with his brother for a few days, while Shelby and I continued on for another hour to my dad’s house.

stedincar

My best friend Donna was in town from Maryland for the holiday weekend, so we got to spend some QT together. I mean, any excuse to see "The Vow," right? Don’t worry, I held it together and only got teary-eyed a couple times. Winking smile

Source

We lucked out with a pretty day on Saturday, most of which was spent outdoors.

IMG_2686

IMG_2679

Despite a rainy Sunday, which made for a nasty drive back to Wilmington, it was a great weekend!

IMAG0330

On to some arts and crafts talk…

I was skimming Etsy yesterday for an earring holder because my earrings had pretty much thrown up in my jewelry area. But while I was looking around, I figured I could just as easily make one myself.

So, to TJMaxx I went! I got this frame for about $12 along with a small piece of burlap from A.C. Moore for a couple bucks.

IMG_2703

I took the backing off the frame, cut the burlap to fit accordingly and then put the glass back in place (behind the burlap). I tried to put the backing on the frame, but it was too smushed and I was planning on hanging the whole thing anyhow.

IMG_2707

And now I have this little number:

IMG_2709

I’m not as happy with it as I’d like to be, but it’s not bad for a quick little arts & crafts project, eh? I’m thinking I’ll need a hot glue gun to keep the burlap taut since my heavier earrings are weighing it down.

And in other news…

I ordered Shelby a Thundershirt yesterday. As a rescue pup, she’s always been a pretty anxious pup, but her travel anxiety is really kind of awful. She stands up during the whole car ride, shaking and panting with her tail between her legs. That makes for a loooong 3-hour drive to and from Greensboro.

Source

I feel terrible because there’s nothing I can do for her since, you know, I’m trying to keep the car within the lines. I’ve read a lot of good reviews and some meh-it-didn’t-really-work-for-my-dog reviews, so we’ll see how well she does with it. Anyone had any success with this?

Entry filed under: Family, How To, Movies, Shelby, Travel. Tags: , , , .

Super Bowl…ing? Let the Memories Begin!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Donna  |  February 25, 2012 at 7:00 pm

    i’m impressed, very crafty!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


At a Glance

February 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
26272829  

Hello!

fambeach

Follow us as we enjoy life with two crazy pups!

Archive

Recent Posts


