Pumpkin Spice + Everything Nice

September 25, 2011 at 3:20 pm 3 comments

It’s hard to believe, but Friday marked the first day of Fall. Though summer is definitely my favorite season, the one thing I look forward to in Fall is pumpkin-everything. To kick the season off right, I used this recipe to make my first ever pumpkin spice cookies. A two ingredient recipe? Sign me up!

pumpkin_spice

I did a “test batch” Wednesday night and then made another Thursday evening to take to work on Friday for the first official day of Fall. (Don’t worry… I was sure to taste-test the batter from each batch… A tummy ache may have resulted both times.) They turned out to be the consistency of cake, but in the form of cookies which means you can have more of them! From the looks of an empty plate, I think they were enjoyed by all. Winking smile

Note: I used a can of 100% pumpkin that the recipe calls for in the first batch, but accidentally bought pumpkin mix for the second. Either way, they’re delicious!

After a pretty rainy week, the weekend followed suit. It was overcast yesterday and has been raining for the better part of today. Needless to say, I haven’t accomplished anything I had planned to do this weekend. But, that’s what the work week is for, right?!

Ryan and I did manage to make it to our weekend movie date yesterday to see Drive. Besides Ryan Gosling being as good-looking as usual, the movie was not at all what I was expecting. [SPOILER ALERT!] Yes, he played a stunt car driver and a lot of action ensued, but I was definitely not expecting all the blood and guts. Eeek! It was one of those movies that left you feeling strange afterwards, if that makes sense… We went to Target after the movie to pick up a cheap pair of sunglasses for me (since I lost mine on the boat a few weeks back), and I thought everyone was out to get us. Ha, good thing the action stayed in the movie!

Today, we’re snuggled up on the couch nursing a sick puppy with an upset tummy (we’ve tried rice and mashed potatoes to settle her stomach with no luck yet Sad smile)…

sick_shelbs

and watching a little A LOT of Mad Men. Since starting to watch it a few weeks back on Netflix Instant, we’ve officially become addicted to this show. I can’t believe we’re just now getting into it!

Enjoy the rest of your Sunday! Smile

Entry filed under: Movies, Recipes, Shelby. Tags: , , , , , .

Pooch Plunge! Family Fun

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Julie K  |  September 25, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    Oh no! Poor Shelbs! Sick animals are no fun…you can’t help but feel sooo bad for them!

    I just bought the ingredients for the pumpkin spice cookies. I’m also going to try my hand at the cream cheese frosting! Yum!!

    PS I didn’t know Mad Men was on Netflix Instant! I swear I looked a couple months ago! Anyhow, enjoy!

    Reply
    • 2. Two Pups and Us  |  September 25, 2011 at 4:15 pm

      Shelby’s a tough girl…. She’s just taking it super easy today!

      I wanted to try the cream cheese frosting too… With cinnamon sugar on top. Holy YUM! Let me know how it turns out! 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Birthdays, Birthdays! « Two Pups and Us  |  October 19, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    […] night for Chelsea’s birthday with a little get-together at our friend Shirin’s house. Among pumpkin spice cookies, cupcakes and Mexican dip, we also took it back to the college days with some spiked orange Fanta […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


At a Glance

September 2011
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Hello!

fambeach

Follow us as we enjoy life with two crazy pups!

Archive

Recent Posts


